ESPN Wisconsin

Bielema releases initial depth chart

Aug 20, 2012 -- 4:33pm


MADISON – Wisconsin head coach Bret Bielema named his starting quarterback Sunday evening via Twitter. On Monday, he released the rest of his initial two-deep, one that had a couple surprises but for the most part went as expected.

Offensively, the top three wide receivers are currently listed as Jared Abbrederis, Jordan Fredrick and Kenzel Doe. Freshman A.J. Jordan is listed as Abbrederis’ backup, junior Jeff Duckworth is Doe’s replacement and Chase Hammond and Manasseh Garner are still battling for a spot behind Fredrick.

Junior Jacob Pedersen and junior Brian Wozniak are listed as UW’s top two tight ends. Pedersen is UW’s second leading receiver currently on the roster from 2011.

There appears to be some movement up front, however. Kyle Costigan, who worked exclusively with the No. 1 offense during Friday’s morning practice, is listed as the team’s No. 1 right guard. Robert Burge, who had been battling for that same spot, isn’t listed as UW’s No. 2 right guard. That role, instead, belongs to Dan Voltz.

Burge is currently listed as UW’s No. 2 right tackle behind starter Rob Havenstein. Sophomore Joe McNamara is listed as UW’s No. 2 center behind Travis Frederick.

The only surprise on the defensive side of the ball is that Pat Muldoon has been included with the starters, slashed with both David Gilbert and Brendan Kelly. A slash suggests either player could start. That’s usually based on how they do in practice leading into the game.

Ethan Armstrong, Chris Borland and Mike Taylor man the Sam, Mike and Will, respectively. Marcus Cromartie and Devin Smith are the top two corneracks and Shelton Johnson and Dezmen Southward are the top two safeties.

Freshman Jack Russell has the edge at field goal kicker, which is somewhat surprising considering Bielema had been hyping him as UW’s kickoff specialists for the better part of a week. French, who has struggled recently, is listed as UW’s kickoff specialist.

Freshman Stephen Salata will perform holding duties and Abbrederis is listed as both kick and punt returner.



QB: 1. Danny O’Brien, 2. Curt Phillips/Joel Stave
RB: 1. Montee Ball, 2. James White
FB: 1. Sherard Cadogan/Derek Watt
WR: 1. Jordan Fredrick, 2. Chase Hammond/Manasseh Garner
WR: 1. Jared Abbrederis 2. A.J. Jordan
WR: 1. Kenzel Doe 2. Jeff Duckworth
TE: 1. Jacob Pedersen, 2. Sam Arneson
TE: 1. Brian Wozniak, 2. Brock DeCicco
LT: 1. Rick Wagner, 2. Tyler Marz
LG: 1. Ryan Groy, 2. Zac Matthias
C: 1. Travis Frederick, 2. Joe McNamara
RG: 1. Kyle Costigan, 2. Dan Voltz
RT: 1. Rob Havenstein, 2. Rob Burge


DE: 1. David Gilbert/Pat Muldoon, 2. Konrad Zagzebski
DT: 1. Beau Allen, 2. Bryce Gilbert
DT: 1. Ethan Hemer, 2. Warren Herring
DE: 1. Brendan Kelly/Pat Muldoon, 2. Tyler Dippel
SLB: 1. Ethan Armstrong, 2. Conor O’Neill
MLB: 1. Chris Borland, 2. Marcus Trotter
WLB: 1. Mike Taylor, 2. Derek Landisch
CB: 1. Marcus Cromartie, 2. Devin Gaulden
SS: 1. Shelton Johnson, 2. Michael Trotter/Michael Caputo
FS: 1. Dezmen Southward, 2. Michael Trotter/Darius Hillary
CB: 1. Devin Smith, 2. Peniel Jean

Special Teams:

P: 1. Drew Meyer, 2. Stephen Salata
K (FG): 1. Jack Russell, 2. Kyle French
KO: 1. Kyle French, 2. Jack Russell
LS: 1. James McGuire, 2. Connor Udelhoven
H: 1. Stephen Salata, 2. Drew Meyer
PR: 1. Jared Abbrederis, 2. Kenzel Doe
KR: 1. Jared Abbrederis, 2. James White

Return to: Wisconsin Badgers Blog