ESPN Wisconsin

Lacy honored by PFWA as top NFL rookie

Jan 14, 2014 -- 3:26pm
Photo/Getty Images
Eddie Lacy appears to be the frontrunner for the AP NFL Rookie of the Year award, to be announced the night before the Super Bowl.

GREEN BAY – If Eddie Lacy’s selection as the NFL Rookie of the Year on Tuesday by the Professional Football Writers of America can be taken as a sign of things to come, the Green Bay Packers running back will be winning the league’s official award in a few weeks.

The PFWA selected Lacy as the overall rookie of the year while naming San Diego Chargers wide receiver Keenan Allen as offensive rookie of the year and Buffalo Bills linebacker Kiko Alonso as the defensive rookie of the year.

The NFL’s official award, presented by the Associated Press as selected by a panel of 50 media voters, will be presented Feb. 1 at the third annual NFL Honors event on the eve of Super Bowl XLVIII in New York. 
Lacy finished eighth in the NFL with 1,178 rushing yards, which was the most among rookie running backs and set the Packers franchise single-season rookie record as well.

Lacy, a second-round pick from Alabama, was taken No. 61 overall and was the fourth running back selected last spring.

The AP award is not given to a single rookie but is divided between offense and defense. Packers cornerback Casey Hayward finished third in the defensive rookie of the year balloting last year.

The only Packers to win rookie of the year awards are running back John Brockington (offensive, 1971), cornerback Willie Buchanon (defensive, 1972) and safety Tom Flynn (defensive, 1984). Receiver Boyd Dowler won the overall award in 1959.

Allen led all rookie receivers and ranked No. 22 in the league in receiving yards this season with 1,046. His 71 receptions was tied for 35th.

Lacy was the only Packers rookie honored by the PFWA, as rookie left tackle David Bakhtiari and rookie punt returner Micah Hyde were passed over for the all-rookie team. San Diego’s D.J. Fluker and the New York Giants’ Justin Pugh were chosen as the starting tackles, while St. Louis’ Tavon Ausin was chosen as the punt returner.

For the full list of rookie honors, visit the PFWA website.

Return to: Jason Wilde Blog